# New Year

So, December 31st has arrived. The moment to stop, think, and reflect on one year’s closing and open the door to a new year. I have to say, my end of 2012 looks significantly different from my beginning. The last 12 months have been some of my most challenging, enthralling, frustrating, maddening, and challenging that I have experienced thus far in my adult life. There have been many moments of happiness, accomplishment and gratitude along with a dose of bleak realities, harsh conclusions, and sad endings.

When we begin one year we can never know the peaks and valleys that will outline the year’s journey.

We eye the year ahead with a sense of excitement and trepidation wishing we knew what lie ahead….all the while we plot and plan our course. I for one feel gratitude to be living in this moment….to have unfulfilled dreams that have yet to be realized and challenges that need to be tackled. As I close the the door to 2012, I have one hand firmly clasped on the door to 2013.

So, it comes as no surprise that I too have outlined the expected year end list. As I contemplated the feats or moments of my life that I wanted to list this year; a flush of emotions consumed me, the omnipresent lingering of my illness, the racing thoughts and feeling all came bursting forth like tidal waves; the sadness, despair, loneliness, and pain seemed to be top contenders.

Instead, I have chosen to focus on the positives. With a clear mind, open heart, and new perspective I have chosen to change my perception and focus my list on the benefits that Fibromyalgia and CFS have brought to my life over the past year. A daunting task I know….what could possibly be good about Fibromyalgia? As I pondered that question, the words twirling around and around in my head, I thought to one of my poems titled Deception…were I speak the line “your deception is my perception”.

Yes, how we choose to look at our life, the perspective that we choose to view an event has a great bearing on how we handle the various peaks and valleys on this road called life. As the saying goes, “there is always a silver lining to be found“..I challenged myself- as well as  YOU my readers to come up with TEN positives about Fibromyalgia and how they have affected your life. I can easily rattle off TEN negative things about my disease, diatribe for hours about how much it has taken away, how bad it is, how much it sucks, in fact, I do everyday….right here on this here blog. But what about the good that it has brought me. Isn’t there some good to be received from everything?

Optimists seem to think so. Those that look at the glass as half full and not the cynics like myself that see it as half empty. These optimists reshape their perspective of life, rebound, and bounce back from seemingly unconquerable odds. I want to be one of these people.

Call me crazy, naive, or foolish, but this challenge is vital for me as I embark on the new year, with a new mind, body, and perspective; begin to own my disease and not let it own me, and accept it in my life. I didn’t say it would be easy or fun, but it must be done. So without further adieu….

10 Positive Ways That Fibromyalgia Has Changed My Life in 2012

One thought on “# New Year

Leave a Reply

